OUR LABORATORY INFORMS ABOUT SUICIDE PREVENTION

Suicide is complex and tragic, but it can be prevented. Mental health problems are among the most significant risk factors. Our research laboratory is committed to generating knowledge to inform suicide prevention and mental health promotion efforts.

OUR GOALS

    • Examine, from a developmental epidemiological perspective, individual, community, societal and intergenerational influences related to suicide.
    • Design and evaluate the effectiveness of innovative interventions to prevent suicide and promote mental health.
    • Disseminate and apply scientific knowledge in the field of suicide prevention.
Dr. Geoffroy

Our research laboratory, based at McGill University and the Douglas Mental Health University Institute, is directed by Dr. Marie-Claude Geoffroy, psychologist, associate professor of psychiatry and Canada Research Chair in Mental Health Promotion and Suicide Prevention.

Our team includes highly qualified research professionals, statisticians, master’s and doctoral students, as well as postdoctoral researchers. We actively collaborate with clinicians and people with lived experience.

building

LEARN MORE

Through our various knowledge mobilization activities, we help raise public awareness of suicide prevention and mental health, and reduce stigma.

 

LEARN MORE LEARN MORE

OUR NETWORK

We are connected to several research and knowledge mobilization teams, groups and networks.

NOTRE LABORATOIRE INFORME SUR LA PRÉVENTION DU SUICIDE

Le suicide est complexe et tragique, mais il est possible de le prévenir. Les problèmes de santé mentale sont parmi les facteurs de risque les plus significatifs. Notre laboratoire de recherche s’engage à générer des connaissances afin d’informer les efforts de prévention du suicide et de promotion de la santé mentale.

NOS OBJECTIFS

    • Examiner, dans une perspective épidémiologique développementale, les influences individuelles, communautaires, sociétales et intergénérationnelles liées au suicide.
    • Concevoir et évaluer l’efficacité d’interventions novatrices visant à prévenir le suicide et promouvoir la santé mentale.
    • Diffuser et appliquer les connaissances scientifiques dans le domaine de la prévention du suicide.
Dre Geoffroy

Notre laboratoire de recherche, basé à l’Université McGill et l’Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale Douglas, est dirigé par Dre Marie-Claude Geoffroy, psychologue, professeure agrégée de psychiatrie, et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en promotion de la santé mentale et de la prévention du suicide.

Notre équipe comprend des professionnels de recherche hautement qualifiés, des statisticiens, des étudiants de maîtrise et de doctorat, de même que des chercheurs postdoctoraux. Nous collaborons activement avec des cliniciens et des personnes avec expériences vécues.

building

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Par nos diverses activités de mobilisation de connaissances, nous contribuons à sensibiliser le public à la prévention du suicide et à la santé mentale, et à réduire la stigmatisation.

EN SAVOIR PLUS EN SAVOIR PLUS

NOTRE RÉSEAU

Nous sommes connectés à plusieurs équipes, groupes et réseaux de recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances.